0 items | total: £0.00 - View basket
HomePlacesEurope › Europe in a nut shell

Europe in a nut shell

Hotels:

Luxembourg
Hotel Simoncini - www.hotelsimoncini.lu
6, rue de Notre Dame
L-2240 Luxembourg
T: +352 22 28 44

Fantastic modern hotel with an apartment to fit the whole family

Germany
Hotel Schwarzwalder Hof - www.shof.de
Herrenstr. 43
79098 Freiburg
T: +49 (0) 761 3803 0

Great location, in the heart of Freiburg

Switzerland
Post Hotel Weggis - www.posthotelweggis.com
SeeStrasse 8
CH6353 Weggis
Switzerland

Superb spa hotel with amazing outdoor terrace overlooking the lake for dining and relaxing

Italy
Hotel San Rocco - www.hotelsanrocco.it/en
Via Gippini 11
28016 Orta San Guilio
T: +39 0322 91 19 77

Stunning hotel in a stunning location

Riva Lofts - www.rivalofts.com
Via Baccio Bandinelli 98
50142 Florence
T: +39 055 7130272

One of our favourites, apartment hotel with superb pool, gardens and facilities

Locanda di Palazzo Cicala - www.palazzocicala.it
Piazza San Lorenzo, 16
16123 Genova
T: +39 010 2518824

Spacious rooms in a great location

Isola d'Elba
Hotel Hermitage - www.elba4star.it
La Biodola
57037 Portoferraio - Li
T: +39 0565 97 40

The best hotel you will ever visit

France
L'Hotel Particulier - www.hotel-particulier.com
Rue de la Monnaie
13200 Arles
T: +33(0)4 90 52 51 40

Amazing hotel with fantastic rooms, restaurant and courtyard in beautiful Arles

Hostellerie Du Chapeau Rouge (Best Western) - http://www.chapeau-rouge.fr/hotel/accueil-top.htm
5 Rue Michelet
BP 52408 Dijon
T: +33 3 80 50 88 88

The restaurant at this hotel is superb

Restaurants and cafe's:

Luxembourg
Brasserie Guillaume - www.brasserieguillaume.lu
12-14 Place Guillaume II
L-1648 Luxembourg
T: +352 26 20 20 20

Delicious moules and frites

Germany
Schlappen - www.schlappen.com
Lowenstrasse 2
79098 Freiburg
T: +49(0)7613 3494

Traditional crispy Alsatian pizzas

Cafe Schaefer - www.cafe-schaefer-triberg.de/englishversion/blackforestcherrycake/index.html
Hauptstrasse 33

D-78098 Triberg
T: +49(0)7722 4465

Black forest gateau made using the original recipe

Italy
Acqua al Due - www.acquaal2.it/
Via della Vigna Vecchia 40r
50122 Florence
T: +39 055 28 41 70

Italian tasting menu, delicious

Hotel Savoy - www.hotelsavoy.it/
Piazza della Rupubblica 7
50123 Florence
T: +39 055 27 35 1

Great spot for outdoor drinks pre-dinner

Trattoria 13 Gobbi - www.casatrattoria.com/ristoranti.asp?id=2
Via del Porcellana 9R
Florence
T: +39 055 284015

The best beef you will ever eat, superb

Le Cantine Squarciafico - www.squarciafico.it
Piazza Invrea, 3r
16123 Genova
T: +39 010 2470823

Coconut brulee (Freckles favourite) great food and wine

I Tre Merli - www.itremerli.it
Area Porto Antico di Genova
16128 Genova
T: 010 24 64 416

Perfect lunch spot before heading into the aquarium

France
William Frachot - www.chapeau-rouge.fr
5 Rue Michelet
BP 52408 Dijon
T: +33 3 80 50 88 88

For a food experience, Michelin star dining with stunning food and accompanying wine

Places of interest:

Belgium
La Grotte De Hans - www.grotte-de-han.be
Rue Joseph Lamotte, 2
B5580 Han-Sur-Lesse
Belgique
T: +32(0)84/37 72 13

Incredible underground grotto with huge stalactites and stalagmites

France
Cathedral Notre Dame Strasbourg - www.strasbourg.info/cathedral/

Beautiful cathedral with amazing ice cream shops next door for the 'Freckles'


Matisse Chapel - www.south-of-france.com/matisse-chapel-at-vence/
466 Avenue Henri Matisse
F - 06140 Vence

A must see if in the area

Luxembourg
Musee d'Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean - www.mudam.lu/en/accueil/?article=203&cHash=7a0ae2cf51c8948adf52262b78545671

Modern art housed in a modern architectural building

Germany
Hasenhorn Mountain Coaster - www.hasenhorn-rodelbahn.de/index.php?sprache=eng&site
Hasenhorn-Sessellift
Seilbahngesellschaft Todtnau GmbH
D-79674 Todtnau
T: +49 (0)7671 96980

For thrill seekers

Triberg Waterfalls - www.black-forest-travel.com/places-of-interest/triberg-waterfalls.html

Stunning walkway through the trees to the top of the waterfall

Switzerland
The Simplon Pass - www.myswitzerland.com/en/travel/.../simplon-pass-route.html

Scenic route through the Alps from Switzerland to Italy

Italy
Aquarium in Genoa - www.acquariodigenova.it
Area Porto Antico
Ponte Spinola
16128 Genova
T: +39 010 23451

One of the best aquariums we have visited

Isola d'Elba
Diving School - www.divinginelba.com/en/home.asp
Riccardo Buralli T: +39 347 3715788

Professional and safe diving with fun instructors, perfect if taking the 'Freckles' for the first time

Other useful sources of information:

Eurostar - www.eurostar.com
T: 08432 186 186

Scuba Zone Diving School London - www.scuba-zone.co.uk
T: 020 7435 4365

Google maps - maps.google.com/

Moby Lines Ferries - www.mobylines.com
T: 49(0) 611 14020

Lonely Planet Guide - Western Europe - www.lonelyplanet.com/uk

 

Europe
Europe